Cartogram of the 2017 Alabama Special Senatorial Race

Dec 14, 2017
Cartogram map of 2017 Alabama Senate race

The geographically accurate cartogram above resizes the counties based on the number of votes cast in the Senate race between Republican Roy Moore and Democrat Doug Jones.  The more votes cast in a county, the larger it is on the map.  This cartogram shows that Jones won the four largest counties (Jefferson, Madison, Mobile, and Montgomery) whereas Moore won the fifth and sixth largest counties.  It proved not to be enough to get him past the post.